New Classes, New Teachers, New Blog

It’s a new semester, my last semester, and I’ve got a great lineup of  courses.  First period goes to Mr. MacDonald and his Philosophy course.  I’ve only had one class so far, but it left a big impression.  Let me tell you, I’ve never heard anyone turn what could have been a 20 minute overview of a course into 75 minutes of in-depth opinions on the textbook, it’s predecessor, and different offshoots of the five units we’ll be covering.  I have a feeling this class will be a little dry at times, but I’ve got to hand it to him: MacDonald knows his stuff.

Second period is World Issues with Mr. Melfi.  I’m extremely excited to get involved in this class. I’ve always wanted to understand how the world works, and this class is the perfect reason to force myself to start reading the newspaper and staying on top of current events.  I also think I might have an advantage with friends living in over 20 countries around the world!

I have a spare during third period.  I wonder if I’ll use it wisely…?

Finally, in fourth period, I head back to MacDonald’s room for religion.  I’m a little wary of this class.  Mr. MacDonald has a reputation as a hardcore Catholic teacher (who would prefer to hear that your opinion happens to be the same at the Church’s).  From the first class I can already tell I’ll need a bottle of Advil, a pillow and a bulls-eye labelled: Bang Head Here.  On the bright side, I know a lot of the people in all my classes, so I’m among friends and (with a little luck) will survive the end of high school.

This blog is mainly thanks to Mr. Melfi.  Our class needs an account on WordPress to do some of the homework assignments, but I see it as a sign to continue blogging.  And so, I now hereby swear to keep everyone up-to-date on my experiences in applying to and (fingers crossed) starting university in September.

Love you all,

Kenzie

Let me know what you think!

