Auctions, Applications, and A Change of Plans

Hello again everyone!  It’s been a while since I’ve posted.  I wish I could say a lot has happened… but it hasn’t.  There are a few things worth mentioning though.

The first is rather fun.  I’ve been auctioned off and bought by another student at my school.  As a fundraiser, my school rounded up a bunch of grade 12’s and auctioned them off as tutors, amusement, friends-for-a-day, and people to wait in line for you.  It’s my job to help someone with a formal or creative writing assignment.  It was a great idea, but there’s room for improvement.  In the future, I would suggest not making it anonymous, and maybe not capping the bid at $10.  Just an idea.

The next event (or rather, non-event) might have been of importance about a week ago.  I’ve been waiting since December to find out if I’ve been accepted to a university.  Unfortunately, unlike my classmates, I’m not eligible for early acceptance because I don’t have grade 11 marks (the only downside I can think of to spending grade 11 in Australia).  Originally, I was told that I would find out in late-April/early-May if I was accepted, but there has been a change of plans!

I’ve recently come to the conclusion that as much as I love anthropology, there are very few well-paying job in the field. Added to that, there’s a field I love even more.  Those of you who know me well will know that I’ve been interesting in psychology for as long as I can remember.  This seems to be much more suited to me and where I want to end up in life.

Unfortunately, I don’t have all the prerequisites I need to apply for psychology in university.  So next year, instead of heading off to uni, I will be staying behind to catch up on some grade 11 and grade 12 courses that I have yet to take.  I’ll most likely be taking grade 11 Biology, Ancient Civilizations, Travel and Tourism, and World Religions; and grade 12 Biology and Math.  Admittedly, I find it sightly ironic that the girl who has had a countdown to graduation for years (71 days!), the girl who has hated high school since the second day of grade 9, has decided to return for an entire year.  And I’m okay with it!  …I think.

P.S.  And yes, the rumours are true.  I’m cashing in the teenage right to fall under one standard cliché without the poking fun.  I’m dating the guy next door. :)

One thought on “Auctions, Applications, and A Change of Plans

  1. Hi Kenzie, sorry to hear that you missed out on your uni place but having a year in Australia was surely worth it. It may have also been a blessing in disguise. It’s great to have alternatives and I commend you on your decision to analysise your choices and change your approach to studies.
    Life here in Horsham has been ‘interesting’ over the last few months, with floods which actually cut the town in 1/2 for a couple of days and created havoc in many communities in Victoria, some of them still struggling with the aftermath. There has been a lot of anger with regard to insurance companies declining insurance claims because of the interpretation of floods etc. Horsham got off lightly compared to other communities.
    All the best for your studies.
    Elinor.

Let me know what you think!

