Quiet and Other Good Ideas

Happy Sunday everyone :)

Well, I’ll get right into it. In March, I mentioned a book called Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain. As I’m sure you can guess, the book focuses on just how much our current society (knowingly or unknowingly) undervalues the quieter, reflective, less social personality types at school, in the workplace, and socially. Cain is so passionate about this subject—she’s an introvert herself who has been pushed into many extroverted roles in her life—and you can really feel it in her writing. She shares real stories of both introverts and extroverts, and through the most cutting-edge research in the field, illustrates the fundamental differences between the extroverted, introverted, and ambiverted among us.

This book has floored me. Of course, I’m very interested in psychology, especially personality and evolutionary psychology, so I already knew this book would be interesting to me. But the more I read, the more I think: “Oh! If only my teachers had known this about introverts!” and similar trains of thought. This book isn’t something that only psychologists should read, or even a book that only introverts should read. Everyone should read this book. The socially extroverted person will learn a little more about his “shy” co-worker that just won’t share her fabulous ideas in meetings, and the quieter, studious teenager will understand why his peers talk as much as they do. If you are a person who, at any point during your day, has to interact with other humans, you need to read this book.

Along with Quiet, there are a lot of illuminating books I’ve been reading lately in the psychology area. I’ve been out of high school long enough that I feel like I’ve forgotten how to learn, so that may be why I’ve been gravitating toward the non-fiction section lately. I want to write an essay or create a seminar on something I find really interesting, in order to remember how to research, write, and edit.

So I’m looking for ideas, folks. I need a topic that lies anywhere between social psychology and neuroscience. I’ll pick one, work on it, and maybe even post it when it’s done.

Thanks for your help!

Kenzie

Let me know what you think!

