The Evolution of a Bookworm

Hey there everyone :) How’s your day been? I’m feeling very compelled to write something, but I’m not sure what just yet. ←That’s fair enough warning; rambling may follow. Well, I might as well start with reading. Because I talk a lot about how I feel regarding all the books I’m reading, but I’ve never really mentioned how I feel about reading itself. You may think (if you’ve visited my other pages) that I’m a pretty hard core reader. I really don’t plough through a book a day…though I can if need be. I guess I’ve been through quite a few stages in my bookworm life…

Stage 1 (age 2-3)

Cheryl and Bradley have a two-year-old daughter who will only nap for one hour in the afternoon. In order to lengthen baby-free downtime, they place a small stack of Little Golden Books in the corner of her bed, so she will have something to do when she wakes up. A bookworm is born.

Stage 2 (age 4-8) 

Magic Tree House, Junie B. Jones, The Giggler Treatment**.  ‘Nuff Said.

Stage 3 (age 7-12)

I started reading books probably out of my age range like Harry Potter (of course), Inkheart, Peter Pan, The Historian, and yes, I’ll admit it (because I was 12), Twilight. I liked adventure books. The bigger, the better. The more fantastical, the better.

Stage 4 (age 11-15)

It was at this point in my life that I found a Nora Roberts book on a shelf in our house. Because of that one book, I went through a phase where I read standard harlequin romance novels by the truckload. A little embarrassing, actually. And then I read an article that said people who read romance novels are far less likely to be happy in their own love lives. It makes sense. Nora Roberts (at one point, the only author I would read) has written a lot of books…over 200. They’re all very different, but they all have the same formula which includes a happy ending; I have yet to read a Roberts book that didn’t end in a marriage, a proposal, solving the mystery, or getting the bad guy. It’s very confusing when all the characters you read about find the perfect mate, and you can’t even find someone who makes you happy more often than they annoy you. This realization is when I stopped reading the romance novels.

Side note: I had found someone who made me happy more than he annoyed me at 11, but I was too dumb to know it then. I’m not so dumb anymore—he still makes me happy more often than he annoys me…kind of :p

Stage 5 (age 17-now)

I didn’t read much of anything for quite some time, with the exception of a couple high school English books. My first and second go at Grade 12 English (5% increase in English mark = acceptance to Queen’s) were very important times in my bookworm existence. In both years, we were given the opportunity to choose between a bunch of books. I picked The Handmaid’s Tale the first time, and The Glass Castle and The English Patient the second. I wasn’t expecting much considering given they were grown-up, award-winning books (blech!) so imagine how surprised was I when I actually really enjoyed them.

And so, I am at the stage in my bookworm life where I sprout two little wings and make an effort to read as many award-winning/classic/must-read books as it takes to find my favourite authors. You may have noticed my 1001 books page and my library page. These are my attempts at educating myself in the world of literature, beyond harlequin romance and The Giggler Treatment.

Well, it’s quite late and I do believe you all know a few too many dark secrets about me that I generally don’t advertise. Since I suppose you won’t all share dark secrets of yours, maybe you could leave your favourite book in the the comments. I’m always looking to add to my wish list.

I’m honestly surprised you read this far. You must be as crazy as I am.

Your crazy bookworm,

Kenzie

**NOTE TO ALL PARENTS: read The Giggler Treatment with your children, or gift it to them if they’re older. All I can remember about that book is dog poop, a shoe, and laughing until I cried. I think I read it 50 times. I will gift you with a sample here.

One thought on “The Evolution of a Bookworm

Let me know what you think!

