What Are You Bringing To Res?

Hey all :)

I feel like I haven’t written anything in forever. Things are getting pretty busy around here. My family has been preparing to go to the cottage for a week (26 people in one building requires a lot of preparation), as well as helping me prepare for moving to Kingston the week after we get back. I can’t believe I’ll be living in my own place (kinda) in 15 days! My brain is going to explode with emotions…excited to be on my own; dying to start classes; terrified to leave my man; unenthusiastic about my room; agog about my courses; and concerned about how much sarcasm I use (and if this particular habit will interfere with me ever making friends again).

In light of all this crazy preparation, I’ve been wondering…how are all my peers planning on making their new dorm rooms home? I’ve looked up many versions of the “Ultimate Shopping List for University Dorms” and from them created my own ultimate list of things I think will make my dorm feel a little more like home (even if I don’t end up getting everything). I’m not including things I would already own like clothes, books, pictures, knickknacks, etc..

  • New curtain for window
  • Bed set with lots of pillows
  • Bed risers ✔
  • Under-bed storage
  • Closet organizer
  • Box storage ✔
  • Adhesive wall hooks
  • Mini-vacuum
  • Bar fridge ✔
  • Kettle
  • Plates, bowls, cups, mugs, cutlery
  • Shower caddy
  • Towels
  • Shower curtain
  • Closet hangers ✔
  • Over-the-door mirror
  • Printer ✔
  • Paper shredder ✔
  • Power bar
  • A couple of plants ✔
  • Memory card for camera
  • Batteries!
  • First-aid kit
  • Tool kit ✔
  • Book ends!
  • Binders ✔
  • Paper ✔
  • Pens, pencils, highlighters, etc.

I don’t feel like I’m missing anything. But I’m sure I’ll think of a few more things once I get settled in!

How about you? Is there anything you don’t think you’ll be able to live without in your new home?  Anything people keep suggesting to you that just doesn’t seem to make sense? I keep seeing “glue, scissors, and pencil crayons.” I didn’t know university required elementary school tools! :P If you’re still looking for a good pre-university shopping list, Walmart’s very extensive one is here and Bed, Bath, & Beyond’s more reasonable one is here. Go through these lists for ideas, but you know you best. If you don’t think you’re going to need a thousand pieces of Tupperware, a kettle, or the funkiest lamp available, don’t let Walmart up-sell you!

Alright, I’m off to the cottage folks! I tend to read a lot at the cottage (I know, doesn’t sound like me at all), so I’ll get another book review out when I return. Probably. Maybe. I hope so.

See you later, lovely readers :)

Kenz

Let me know what you think!

